FARO USB and Serial

User avatar
US_Helpdesk
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:26 pm

FARO USB and Serial

Post by US_Helpdesk » Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:55 am

Serial Arm
Models: Gold/Silver/Sterling/Bronze
No Faro software need to be installed nor any arm spec files need to be copied.
Null modem serial cable always.
The serial cable needs to be connected to COM1 always.
If the arm does not have any LED's on, it could be deriving power from the 9pin serial cable. (Such arms come with old IBM custom PC's) Special wiring needs to be done to supply power when using with new off the market PC's. (see attachment)

Usb Arm
Models: Titanium/Platinum, Edge, etc.
FaroArmUsbDriver5 software or later needs to be installed.
CMM-Manager will start the Faro ATL server which controls the Faro Usb arm.

Download drivers from FARO here - USB Drivers

For iOS / Mobile device click here to download the PDF file.

It appears you don't have a PDF plugin for this browser... you can click here to download the PDF file.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I've migrated to a new user account, see my other posts here

SNBROOKS
New User
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:44 am

Re: Default Settings

Post by SNBROOKS » Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:35 am

We are attempting to connect to a FARO PLATINUM ARM (MODEL P06 REV 25.1) and have followed the instructions detailed (Faro USB driver 5.7.5.34 installed) but receive the following error message when CMM Manager attempts to connect to the arm.

"NO USB DEVICE FOUND - swith to off line mode"

We have tried plugging the arm into different USB ports on the computer, re-booting the machine and arm etc but to no avail.

Any further instruction would be of great help.

regards
Steve

User avatar
US_Helpdesk
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:26 pm

Re: Default Settings

Post by US_Helpdesk » Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:03 pm

It sounds like the device driver was not installed properly. Can you see the FARO device in Windows Device Manager? If not, you need to review the install instructions to be sure you installed the device driver. Is this 32 or 64 bit Windows OS?

You can contact us next week at CMMMGR@nikonmetrology.com when we return to the office. At that time someone can help you over the phone or through web meeting if you have an internet connection.
I've migrated to a new user account, see my other posts here

STRICKHUPSER
New User
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 5:38 pm

Re: FARO

Post by STRICKHUPSER » Sun Oct 06, 2013 5:46 pm

Hi,
When hitting "Connect" I get the attached error message.
I'm running FaroArm USB with latest driver 5.7.8.16 on Win XP.

Does anyone know what to do?

Thank you.
peter
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
US_Helpdesk
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:26 pm

Re: FARO

Post by US_Helpdesk » Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:48 am

See the embedded guide above... You must install the FARO USB drivers and then also point to the Wrapper dll file from Machine Setup.
I've migrated to a new user account, see my other posts here

timothygatts
New User
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:11 am

Re: FARO

Post by timothygatts » Wed Sep 10, 2014 4:26 pm

I have connected a FARO Edge to CMM Manager, and I have successfully connected. However, when I click the "Connect" button, it wants to home. It prompts me to get all joints into home position and click OK, but Cancel is the only option (OK is grayed out). I don't know if the issue is that I don't have the arm in the correct position for home or if something else is wrong. Since I can't home, I get my position being ---.--- for x, y, and z coordinates and can't measure anything.

Am I doing something wrong with the FARO arm or with CMM Manager? I am new to FARO arms, so my CMM Manager experience is with a fixed CMM.

Thanks.

User avatar
US_Helpdesk
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:26 pm

Re: FARO

Post by US_Helpdesk » Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:45 am

Move each axis through its entire range of motion. The OK button will not be available until you home each axis of the Arm.
I've migrated to a new user account, see my other posts here

timothygatts
New User
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:11 am

Re: FARO

Post by timothygatts » Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:34 am

Thank you very much.

cdo54928
New User
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:12 pm

Re: FARO USB and Serial

Post by cdo54928 » Tue Jun 23, 2015 7:43 pm

We have connected our FARO Platinum arm but the Arm Stress Detection doesn't seem to be working. Will the Manager software output an alarm for an over stress situation?

User avatar
US_Helpdesk
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:26 pm

Re: FARO USB and Serial

Post by US_Helpdesk » Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:51 pm

How is this alarm presented in other software? Is an error message displayed from FARO USB Driver? This is not implemented in CMM-Manager, but may not need to be if it is handled completely in FARO Driver.
I've migrated to a new user account, see my other posts here

Post Reply