Page 1 of 2

Nikon cmm not following program but the simulation is???

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:48 am
by MistyOnion
Greetings,
My Nikon VMA-2520 iNEXIV cmm follows my old part program exactly in the simulation, but when I run the verification the probe is getting an "unexpected hit" Also axis appears to be to be skewed 45 degrees in the XY plane. Any ideas why this is happening? Can anyone recommend a good service technician for this machine in Southern NH? Thank-You

Re: Nikon cmm not following program but the simulation is???

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:43 am
by CrashN8
Sounds like the Alignment resulted in skewed program. Did this program work work originally? I would do an ALign Part in Teach Mode to correct the skew and then investigate Alignment steps in program to be sure they're robust.

Re: Nikon cmm not following program but the simulation is???

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 10:11 am
by MistyOnion
Hi, thanks Crash N8 for your response. The program has been running fine for 2 years, then suddenly lost it's way. Tried alignment several times and works fine in simulation mode but not during verification.

Re: Nikon cmm not following program but the simulation is???

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 1:56 pm
by CrashN8
Working in simulation does not tell me much... is this path near the outside volume of the machine? Is it the only touch measurement? If not, do other touch measurements work correctly? Can you Re-Align the program as I suggested using "Align Part?" Please look up Align Part here on Forum or in Help Files... This is almost certainly the issue unless the measurement path is interfering with outside volume of system.

Re: Nikon cmm not following program but the simulation is???

Posted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:20 am
by MistyOnion
New problem just came up. I just updated my CMM-M software to 3.9 SP2 and now my software won't even launch! Error message says I need sw license. I tried to retrieve the license from the link provided and same error message keeps coming up. Any ideas?

Re: Nikon cmm not following program but the simulation is???

Posted: Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:23 am
by CMM Guru
When did you purchase CMM-Manager? What what was your previous version? Are you under a maintenance contract? Or are you trying to run 3.9 SP2 as a demo?

Did you try to use the automated link for a demo? Or send the create/send what was your current C2V file for an *update*?

Although running the most recent version you are eligible for is always a good idea, updating CMM-Manager to fix a program that has run for 2 years is unlikely to fix anything. I think Nate is on the right track with this. We need to look at what has changed. Or, since you mention a probe trigger as soon as motion starts, a machine problem.

Re: Nikon cmm not following program but the simulation is???

Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:39 am
by MistyOnion
I'm fairly new to this machine and trying to get some of the history of it. It looks like our seat had a service contract through 5/1/2017 which would make 3.6 SP2 the latest version we would be eligible without renewing our service contract. We recently updated our software from 3.5 Sp1 to 3.6 Sp2 and this is when the issues showed up.

Re: Nikon cmm not following program but the simulation is???

Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:41 am
by CMM Guru
Misty,
In the Windows Start menu, find Nikon Metrology > License Remote Update System. Run this and collect a "C2V" file and send it to the email address listed. Tell them that your system can't find the 3.6 SP2 license. They will send you a V2C file back that you use the 2nd tab of this program to apply it. That should resolve your license issue.
If it is still problematic (licensing) please contact licensing.nm@nikon.com directly.

Re: Nikon cmm not following program but the simulation is???

Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:31 am
by MistyOnion
Unfortunately, The email link provided was not working.

Re: Nikon cmm not following program but the simulation is???

Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:22 am
by CMM Guru