CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Topics applicable to newer version(s) of CMM-Manager (3.0+)
Post Reply
User avatar
TimChaucer
Frequent User
Frequent User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:27 pm
Location: Kent, WA USA

CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Post by TimChaucer » Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:29 pm

When setting up a model for programming, one of the first things I do is to change the surface from shaded to shaded mesh. This allows me to see the boundaries of the indiviual surfaces. Then, each surface can get the number and placement of hits that best define its geometric form.

The cross-section measurement would be more useful if it would always assign at least one hit to each model surface. Setting the interval between hits, as cross section now works, can cause the tip to completely miss radii and small, straight surfaces. If I try to increase coverage by shortening the interval, then the large surfaces get too many hits. This can increase the time spent measuring to the point that it's better to just program individual hits.

Is such a change possible?

User avatar
US_Helpdesk
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:26 pm

Re: CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Post by US_Helpdesk » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:10 pm

When setting up a model for programming, one of the first things I do is to change the surface from shaded to shaded mesh. This allows me to see the boundaries of the indiviual surfaces. Then, each surface can get the number and placement of hits that best define its geometric form.
Yes... If you are using 3.2 or later you can easily choose the CAD render method from the View Tool Bar on the left side of the application. See the buttons that show Wireframe, Shaded and Shaded Edge at the bottom of the toolbar.
The cross-section measurement would be more useful if it would always assign at least one hit to each model surface. Setting the interval between hits, as cross section now works, can cause the tip to completely miss radii and small, straight surfaces. If I try to increase coverage by shortening the interval, then the large surfaces get too many hits. This can increase the time spent measuring to the point that it's better to just program individual hits.
I think we always place at least one point on each surface regardless of the density setting. We will look into this to confirm.
I've migrated to a new user account, see my other posts here

pfunk
Frequent User
Frequent User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 2:11 pm

Re: CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Post by pfunk » Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:28 pm

I can confirm this still happens with Cross-sections in 3.4 SP1:

I have to change the point density down to 1 for each surface to be checked.
CS-3.png
CS-1.png
This is also true in the Complex 2D check, though the hits are different:
C3D-3.png
C3D-1.png
At least one hit in the middle of all selected surfaces would help me keep my number of points at a reasonable level.

Paul
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
US_Helpdesk
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:26 pm

Re: CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Post by US_Helpdesk » Wed Mar 04, 2015 7:01 pm

Can you email me a project file? This will be a reminder for me to look into this further tomorrow.

Thanks - N8
I've migrated to a new user account, see my other posts here

User avatar
Ryan Christopher
Nikon
Nikon
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 3:00 pm
Location: Sumner Washington
Contact:

Re: CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Post by Ryan Christopher » Wed Mar 04, 2015 7:14 pm

This has been an minor annoyance for me also...I usually keep the point density high, create path, then use the circle delete to wipe away the extra points I don't want.

We also use modus a bit and although there is much about it that annoys me, it does give the option to have a seperate point density for contoured vs straight surfaces in this kind of scenario.
Ryan Tackes
Applications Manager, VMS Inc.
http://www.vantagemeasure.com/

User avatar
US_Helpdesk
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:26 pm

Re: CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Post by US_Helpdesk » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:56 am

CMM-Manager already has option to adjust point density in an adaptive manner based on curvature, currently it is implemented only on Free Form touch probe Scan. I will look into this.
I've migrated to a new user account, see my other posts here

ameade022008
Power User
Power User
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:48 pm
Location: Tempe, AZ
Contact:

Re: CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Post by ameade022008 » Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:10 pm

Was there a work around for this?

Everytime I use the cross section feature it always skips curves unless the point density is way low and then it over collects data on my lines. is there a happy medium to this issue?
CROSS1.JPG
CROSS2.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Albert Meade
Quality Manager, Metalcraft Inc.
http://azmetalcraftinc.com/

Automeasure
Regular User
Regular User
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:50 am

Re: CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Post by Automeasure » Sat Feb 03, 2018 9:52 pm

I use cross sections a lot so I do hope CmmM can have an option to distribute points based on curvature so you can have enough points on small curves/radius but not too many on straight lines. Without that, this is my work around:

1, Create your cross section, remove all unwanted curves then ok (at this point, use any point density);
2, Make a copy of this same cross section, open it, now re-select those large curve/straight lines, using low point density so you don't have lots of points;
3, Make another copy from #1, open it, now select small curves and apply high point density;
4, Disable the #1 point cloud. Don't delete it in case need it for future.

I used to manually remove/add points but very time consuming when you have lots of cross sections. By doing this at least you can let software do everything automatically.


Best Regards,

Ray Xing

B.Eng
CMM Application Specialist
GDTP S-0605 (ASME Y14.5)
RX Metrology Solutions Inc.
http://www.rxmetrology.com
A "1Source Metrology" partner
http://www.1sourcemetrology.com

jaudelo1
Regular User
Regular User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 3:55 pm

Re: CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Post by jaudelo1 » Wed Oct 23, 2019 3:08 pm

I've figured out how to create cross sections using the "Measure Cross Section", and create a cross section and curves via the "CAD Editor".
1. When "Measure Cross Section" is used, I end up with a point cloud, that I then have to create points, and then features from those points. This seems like a lot of extra work.
2. When "CAD Editor" is used, I have a bunch of curves created, but can't figure out how to easily create a path(s) to measure all those curves.
Is there a way to create a cross section that will create a path and features for everything along that path? I have a large part with a lot of pockets and was hoping that's what the cross section tools would do.

User avatar
CrashN8
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:07 pm

Re: CROSS-SECTION MEASURING

Post by CrashN8 » Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:32 pm

After you've created 2D CAD Curves you could use CAD Teach Complex 2D (Cloud) This CAD Teach method allows picking a series of Co-Planar curve(s) and then automatically generates points with equal spacing.

Post Reply