NIST Algorithm Test Program

Step by step CMM-Manager tutorials
Post Reply
User avatar
CrashN8
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:07 pm

NIST Algorithm Test Program

Post by CrashN8 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:23 am

You may be familiar with PTB (3rd party) certification that tests fitting Algorithm of (typically) metrology software. You can find the PTB certificate for CMM-Manager here.

It is also possible to perform in-house test of CMM-Manager using NIST generated datasets by running a program I've created that is now distributed with all CMM-Manager installations. You will find a program named NIST_test.PRG in the C:\ProgramData\Nikon\CMM-Manager_xxx\Projects folder.

First you need to download the NIST data sets here.

Now run the program, it may take a few minutes to execute depending on your PC. During the beginning prompts (Machine ID, User Name, Tolerance, Software Version, etc.) you will be prompted for file path of NIST dataset. In example below I have copied the entire NIST folder (downloaded from NIST website) to C:\ProgramData\Nikon\
NIST_folder.jpg
Once the program is done running you will see a lot of constructed features in Database and in Main Graphics screen.
NIST_features.jpg
A .CSV file is generated and saved in the same folder specified during program execution - i.e. C:\ProgramData\Nikon\ for my example above.
NIST_report.jpg

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

theangel
Getting Started
Getting Started
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 3:50 pm

Re: NIST Algorithm Test Program

Post by theangel » Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:56 am

I've downloaded the nist files but can't find the program file. did a search for the nist in the cmm manager program folders to see if I just missed it. We are currently running 3.9 with a new install. was it possible this is a feature that can be turned off when installing? are there other means to get the program file?

User avatar
CrashN8
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:07 pm

Re: NIST Algorithm Test Program

Post by CrashN8 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 5:39 pm

For version 3.9 SP2 it is here - C:\ProgramData\Nikon\CMM-Manager 3.9 SP2\Project\NIST_Test.prg

Please notice the .PRG file extension.

theangel
Getting Started
Getting Started
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 3:50 pm

Re: NIST Algorithm Test Program

Post by theangel » Mon Aug 31, 2020 5:22 pm

Thank you. I had to turn on show hidden items for the programData folder to show.

I downloaded the nist files and put the extracted folder (and subfolders) into in the C:\ProgramData\Nikon\. I ran the program and filled in the boxes and did a cut and paste of the location and got the following error. sript run encounter an error. op#'012" statement: "set objFolder=objFSO.Get Folder(myFolder)" I directed to both the nikon folder where the nist sub folder resides as well as directly to the nist folder and got the same results

User avatar
CrashN8
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:07 pm

Re: NIST Algorithm Test Program

Post by CrashN8 » Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:12 am

I just ran this in 3.9 and 3.10... I have NIST data set here -C:\ProgramData\Nikon\NIST

NIST_folder.jpg
...and entered file path like this - C:\ProgramData\Nikon

NIST.jpg
It seems the path can have "\" at end or not... Program runs either way for me.

Can you provide more details on VBScript error? There should be a button that shows more details and will give a line and column number for where error occured in script.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

theangel
Getting Started
Getting Started
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 3:50 pm

Re: NIST Algorithm Test Program

Post by theangel » Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:29 am

I changed the "nist-12-reference-pairs" folder to just nist and it is running fine now. thanks for your help

Post Reply