Page 1 of 1

Fitting error! Please check the point clouds.

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 12:41 pm
by bighern
so i have this weird shaped part that i have made many point clouds on. when i tried to report these clouds, some of them gave me this error, "Fitting error! Please check the point clouds." . i'm not sure what they mean by this. and i'm not sure why some of my clouds reported just fine, and some did not. i'm not seeing an obvious difference. can someone define what this error message means? or point me in the right direction? thanks

Re: Fitting error! Please check the point clouds.

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:09 pm
by CrashN8
After measuring Cloud are you then doing a construction like Best-Fit to create some other geometry? What type of system is this? Manual , DCC, Vision, Scanning, etc.

Re: Fitting error! Please check the point clouds.

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:24 pm
by bighern
the side of the machine says : " coord 3 A series - powered by renishaw "
it's DCC.
No other construction from the cloud to make other geometry. I'm simply programming it to take a bunch of hits for my could.
i should note that i'm going in, and typing in where i want each point to be for X and Y, vs just going with what the software picks.
except for Z. I'm going with what it picks for Z. After that, when it comes to the part where i want to report that cloud, i'm going to the "basic reporting" ribbon, and choosing "cloud". when i run the program, and it goes to report that cloud, it gives me the "Fitting error! Please check the point clouds."

Re: Fitting error! Please check the point clouds.

Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:34 am
by CrashN8
bighern wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:24 pm
... I'm simply programming it to take a bunch of hits for my cloud.
i should note that i'm going in, and typing in where i want each point to be for X and Y, vs just going with what the software picks.
except for Z. I'm going with what it picks for Z....
So it sounds like you have CAD that you picked surface for Cloud measurement. What is the shape of surface? Is it flat, curved or irregular? In any case maybe try Cloud to CAD Report instead of the basic Cloud Report. That Report Cloud in Basic Group Group of Reporting Tab actually has some prerequisites with Nominal Values, if you typed in new target points for measurement you may have influenced IJK or other aspects of Nominal Values.

Re: Fitting error! Please check the point clouds.

Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:43 am
by bighern
roger that. thanks for the info. i will try the cloud to cad report instead.